Skip to Content

Blue Waters Webinars

Blue Waters Webinar Series


Blue Waters webinars is a series of free webinars that helps the broader computational and data science communities take advantage of the latests and greatest developments, findings, and achievements in a number of areas, from workflow and visualization tools to workforce development and software engineering practices. Webinars are conducted on Wednesdays, with a typical session being only one hour in length. Sessions start at 10 AM Central (8 AM Pacific - 9 AM Mountain - 11 AM Eastern).

Details about each track can be found following the links on the left side of this page. All webinar sessions are broadcast on Youtube and recorded for playback. All sessions are free and open to everyone. Registered participants may pose questions using Blue Waters Slack channel.

To receive reminders with Youtube links and other webinar information, please register for the webinar tracks you're interested in using the link on the left side of this page. You may register for as many webinar tracks as you like.

Petascale Computing

The Blue Waters Petascale Computing track targets the introduction of new, fundamental application approaches, and optimization of applications, to increase the knowledge of and use of "best practices" for highly scalable computing and data analysis.

Scientific Software Ecosystems

Scientific Software Ecosystems webinar track provides sessions addressing the development and applications of software used in all fields of study.

Scientific Workflows

The scientific workflows track will address computational and data proessing tools and approaches for addressing reliable and reproducible discovery processes.

Scientific Visualization

The scientific visualization track will address the art, tools, and resources for representing data graphically to gain understanding and insights into its meaning.

Software Engineering

The software engineering track addresses the art, tools, and resources for developing software.

Workforce and Inclusion

The workforce and inclusion track addresses efforts to prepare a diverse workforce including topics on education, training, and diversity.


We welcome suggestions for topics that benefit the petascale community. Send your suggestions to bw-eot@ncsa.illinois.edu.

Changes to currently scheduled webinars as well as announcements of new sessions are posted at the Announcements page.

Blue Waters webinar series is organized and supported by the Blue Waters project at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications.

* Blue Waters Monthy User Webconference slides can be found here.