Skip to Content

Science and Engineering Advisory Committee

The Science and Engineering Team Advisory Committee (SETAC) brings together a diverse group of Blue Waters users to provide guidance on the project's growth and development through an end-user perspective. As a part of their role in the SETAC, chosen representatives will make annual recommendations for positive change and improvement within the Blue Waters project.

The following SETAC committee members represent current science and engineering teams and were selected to reflect the breadth of research being done on Blue Waters. This includes appointees from each of the Blue Waters user groups: Petascale Computing Resource Allocation (PRAC); Great Lakes Consortium for Petascale Computation (GLCPC); University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and industrial affiliates.

The SETAC will be expected to provide guidance on the overall vision of Blue Waters through various functions. With access to Blue Waters operation monitoring, the committee will be able to better provide guidance for delivering the best possible performance to enable achieving science and engineering teams' objectives. They will be able to make recommendations on technical directions, strategies, and management while identifying potential challenges for petascale applications. As users themselves, the SETAC will also provide advice for solving common issues that arise from moving applications to Blue Waters and from system software at scale. Members will also be expected to offer suggestions on how to improve communications between the project and its science and engineering communities and the general public.

SETAC members


  • Susan Bates, NCAR
  • Manuela Campanelli, Rochester Institute of Technology
  • David Ceperley, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Tom Cheatham, University of Utah
  • Tiziana Di Matteo, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Said Elghobashi, University of CA Irvine
  • Tom Jordan / Philp Maechling, University of Southern California
  • Paul Morin, University of Minnesota
  • Brian O'Shea, Michigan State University
  • Nikolai Pogorelov, University of Alabama Huntsville
  • Paul Woodward, University of Minnesota


  • H. Birali Runesha, University of Chicago

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

  • Athol Kemball, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


  • Rick Arthur, General Electric Global Research

Membership on the SETAC will be for staggered two-year terms, with rotations beginning after year two. The committee meets three to four times each year, producing one report per year that will include an evaluation of the project's performance and recommendations for the next year.